I highly recommend that everyone who reads this journal entry listen to the audio blog I have listed as follows:
http://web.mac.com/fliptheswitchyg/EDGE/Messages/Entries/2008/10/18_Relate:Date_(Dating).html

Our American society is completely obsessed with relationships and marriage.  You see it everywhere (movies, tv shows, books, commercials, internet).  Is there any wonder why over 50% of marriages end in divorce in our culture?  People are motivated in the wrong ways to get involved with others who are probably not right for them, just to "fit into society."  The desire to be with someone romantically is normal and Biblical.  But the liberal media has redefined what is normal in relationships and made the norm unBiblical.  God created women to be partners for men to fullfill His mission.  Marriage was created to show the world Christ because marriage was meant to be an example of true Church. 

I am currently single and am semi-active in the dating world.  As a Christian man, I am looking for a woman who is also a Christian and in which I find attractive in three areas:  Physical, Emotional, and Spiritual.  It is of the utmost importance that the woman is a fellow believer in Christ.  If she does not know the source of Love, how can she show true love to me?  If the woman is not a believer, there would be certain activities that she would want to do that go against my beliefs.  People who enter a dating relationship should treat each other as brothers and sisters in Christ.  When I go on a date, I treat the woman as I would treat my own sister, and I would expect her to treat me as she would her own brother. 

In the mean time, the Bible teaches that everyone who is single should focus their attention on serving the Lord.  There are multiple verses throughout the Old and New Testaments that state, "You should love the Lord, your God, with all of your heart, soul, body, and mind."  Hosea 9:10 teaches that what we love is what we tend to be like, to imitate.  There are times in my life  when I lose focus on God, and begin to worry if I will ever find someone as a partner.  It is during those times that I remember Philippians 4:6, "Do not be anxious about anything. Instead, in every situation, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, tell your requests to God."   Once a person gets married, the focus will be divided, and there should be no turning back.  I need to keep focused on God and continue to serve him in all the ways I can, and in His time, the right girl will come along and God will bless me into a great marriage. 

